how did I get here all tied up
                                                       I’m all tired up
               I never noticed or cared that much
                                                  or cared that much

                complaceny has gotten the best of me
                                       and the best of me is forgotten
                           beneath the sea of what I’ve become

          and all that I’ve done, I hope that it counts
       I’d rather be knocked down than to be knocked out
               so I’ll let go of what I know,
         of what I’ve learned here
              in the past twenty years

           my heart is frozen with meaningless motions
                                          s o   i ‘ l l   h o l d   o n t o   Y o u
          
                     and all that I’ve done, I hope that it counts
             I’ve been knocked down, but I’m not knocked out

                              and I’m at the bottom
                                                             can’t get out
                                             I’ve been knocked down
                                                          but not knocked out
                                                                   not knocked out

                      and I will sing at the top of my lungs
                          I will dance even if I’m the only one
                     and i hope that we’ll never be apart
                  and I will sing and I hope it heals my heart
                               I hope it heals my heart


                                                              how did I get here?
                                                      s a v e    m e   f r o m   t h i s .

Leave a Reply

